How to describe my level of English


Learners of English can be formally divided into three main categories according to their language abilities;

BASIC user (A)



These are further divided into six levels starting from the very basic level A1, continuing to A2, B1, B2, C1 with C2 being the highest level of proficiency.

In order for you to belong to any of the categories you must take a relevant language exam which will test your writing, reading, speaking and listening. Your language skills can be described objectively, according to your results. What this mean is that employers or academics will get an objective understanding of your level of English if you can provide a certificate complying with the CEFR. These main categories follow the standard of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). CEFR was set up by the Council of Europe and is recognised across Europe. It is also supported by the University of Cambridge ESOL examination.





It is NOT necessary to attend an English class in order to take an exam. You can find an exam centre and take an exam independently. 

It may only take you three months to prepare for an exam and pass successfully. You will have to pay an exam fee therefore it is important that you know what to expect and that you are prepared to the best of your abilities. You do not want to waste your money. The fees vary but expect to pay at least £100 or more.

If you want to take an exam without attending classes, there are several practice books available, which will guide you through the exam process. You can get practice test books and see whether you are ready or what needs improving. Another option is to practise your language skills online. There are numerous websites dedicated to exam practice with exercises focusing on every aspect of language such as grammar, listening, writing etc.



The Cambridge English website offers online tests for General as well as Business English. These tests are only for personal purposes and do not qualify as a proof of formal qualification.

Related Topics


WHAT IS CAMBRIDGE ESOL Cambridge ESOL is a Cambridge Certificate of English for speakers of other languages. “Cambridge English exams are accepted by over 20,000 universities, employers and governments around the world. Our exams can open doors to higher education, improve employment opportunities, and because they are globally recognised, can increase learners’ choices for study   Read More

Why study at a London University

Qualifications from London Universities are recognised all across the world therefore it is a great investment for your future. Many universities offer work placement and you will also have the option of a part-time work to help you with your financial situation. London is a city of opportunities and it would be a great asset   Read More

Translate »